What Does Change Look Like – Activity

So the commitment to change has to start somewhere. For me after my “ah ha” moment I knew I had to talk to a doctor and I was pretty sure what she was going to say.  My blood pressure was dangerously high. We started a cocktail of Hydrochlorothiazide and Adalat right away.  And I had to start eating better and MOVING!  Both of these things present a unique challenge to me because I eat like a college freshman and I have met pet rocks who are less sedentary.  The food I will save for another time but today I want to talk about activity. This time of year the activity becomes so much harder. The cold just sinks into my bones and because I work at home I usually just want to slink from office to bed and back again.  And the thing is…. I effing hate the gym. Like HATE. For some reason I, like many people, get lost in the difference between activity and working out. So my challenge is to re-think what being active means to me and then push myself out of my comfort zone.  First thing is first I started with my beloved lists! People who I could count to to go out and do stuff with me and things to do that I would enjoy but would also get my body moving. God I love a good list.  Then I went out and I spent some of my hard earned money on a Fitbit. I am hoping that  having spent the money I won’t want to have seen it go to waste. Plus I love a good challenge where I get to track and get badges and have the external validation of numbers on a screen.  In the coming weeks and months I am going to be trying lots of new things, some will stick and some will miss but in the end every step will be one in the right direction.

I believe that I can do this.  I believe that you can teach an old dog new tricks. #justwatchme

Leave a Reply

