Doing a thing!

Earlier this week I watched a great documentary called Minimalism: A Documentary About the Important Things.    I am always looking at ways to reduce things in my house. I am forever sending bags off to the charity shops. I make an effort to buy less. This year my husband and I requested that our friends and family don’t buy us Christmas gifts but have experiences with us instead. Minimalism, although not always evident, is my aesthetic. I enjoyed the documentary but really peeked my interest was a segment about a project call 333. Project 333 is the minimalist fashion challenge that invites you to dress with 33 items or less for 3 months. This includes clothing, accessories, jewelry, outerwear and shoes but not sentimental piece of jewelry that you never take off, underwear, sleep wear, in-home lounge wear,  and workout clothing. This REALLY appeals to me.  I have draws crammed full of clothing I never wear.  Also I have been making an effort to actually get properly dressed before work rather than always wearing pj’s and yoga pants.  So today I decided that for June, July and August I am going to jump on the 333 bandwagon!   I took out ALL my clothes and made a big ol’ pile. I sorted them into things I really love, that fit well and that mix and match well. I have 31 items picked out, I want to make sure I see whats in the laundry before I commit to my final bits. Then I packed ALL my other clothes in a giant bin and stored it away.

I am excited to see the results of this experiment!! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

